English  |  Deutsch  |  Italiano  |  Français
Siegmund Christoph von Schrattenbach
Né(e): Gratz (Autriche) 28/02/1698   Mort(e): Gratz (Autriche) 16/12/1771

Principe Arcivescovo di Salisburgo (05/04/1753 — 16/12/1771)
Lettres dans lesquelles cette personne est citée
148 (15 décembre 1769) | voir
157 (26 janvier 1770) | voir
168 (24 mars 1770) | voir
170 (24 mars 1770) | voir
171 (27 mars 1770) | voir
177 (21 avril 1770) | voir
181 (28 avril 1770) | voir
182 (2 mai 1770) | voir
184 (19 mai 1770) | voir
197 (7 juillet 1770) | voir
Affichage des 10 premières lettres. Afficher tout
In 1731 Schrattenbach became a canon of Salzburg Cathedral, in 1750 dean, and on 5 April 1753 archbishop. Schrattenbach is often called Salzburg`s `pious` archbishop; he is reported to have attended up to five church services daily, and he kept all the traditional church feast days. He was no intellectual and was said to be bigoted; although there was a small nucleus of would be reformers during his reign, the Enlightenment did not systematically penetrate institutions in Salzburg until after his death. He did, however, encourage native talent. He paid substantial sums for local female singers (including Maria Anna Braunhofer and Maria Magdalena Lipp) to be educated at the Pietá in Venice, and many of his musicians generous paid travel leave. Leopold was granted this for the Mozarts` first visit to Vienna (1762 1763), for their European tour (1763 1766), and for part of their second visit to Vienna (1767 9) as well as the first trip to Italy (1769-1771). Mozart`s La finta semplice was given on Schrattenbach`s name day in 1769 and Il sogno di Scipione was originally intended to celebrate the 50th anniversary of his ordination; Schrattenbach died shortly before this anniversary, however, and the serenata was reworked to celebrate the installation of Schrattenbach`s successor, Hieronymus Colloredo. Lit.: Dopsch and Spatzenegger, Geschichte Salzburgs: Stadt und Land II:1; Eisen, `Salzburg under Church Rule`; Martin, Salzburgs Fürsten in der Barokzeit
Veuillez citer ce site web ainsi:
Eisen, Cliff et al. Comme le dit Mozart, 'Siegmund Christoph Schrattenbach' <http://letters.mozartways.com>. Version 1.0, publiée par HRI Online, 2011. ISBN 9780955787676.
Comme le dit Mozart. Version 1.0, publiée par HRI Online, 2011. ISBN 9780955787676.